Books. eh?

I haven’t been reading much lately, but I have decided to write a little about the good books I have read this spring. I am normally a very literary-minded person, but I like a little light reading every now and again.

This is a book I couldn’t put down. I think it is the best book I have read this year. Read it now. As soon as I finished it, I started it over again. It’s like an episode of Twin Peaks.

I read this for a book club (and then missed our meeting) and purposely bought the version without Scarlet Johannsan & company on the cover. In terms of historical fiction, it was very informative without being too heavy. I spend time researching the Tutors when I finished.

This book was amazing. Jodi Picoult started for me as guilty pleasure reading, and she does crank out a book every year or so. I started with My Sister’s Keeper, a great read. But she has such emotional, thought-provoking writing, that I can’t put her books down. I was reading this on our flight back from Italy and sobbing.

Can you suggest a book I would like for my summer reading?

All images via Amazon.

4 responses to “Books. eh?

  1. I want to read Special Topics so bad! I’m glad you liked it – even more reason to pick it up.

    Right now I’m reading Bonk by Mary Roach which is nonfiction all about the intersection of science and sex. Highly recommended.

  2. I read Special Topics in Calamity Physics for a book club; it was a good read.

    I think the two best books I’ve read this year are:

    “The Second Coming of Mavala Shikongo” by Peter Orner

    and

    “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz (which, coincidentally, also just won the Pulitzer Prize)

    oh, and “The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch. That was good.

  3. If you liked The Other Boleyn Girl, you should definitely read The Boyleyn Inheritance (also by Gregory). I’ve read all of her books (liked some more than others) but the Boyleyn Inheritance is my absolute fav. It’s amazing.

    Also, I would suggest the Emily Giffen chicklit series, Something Borrowed and Something Blue. Both are light, fun, and very good. I’ve also read Baby Proof, but am waiting for the paperback of her latest.

  4. If you have never read Paulo Coelho, I would suggest “11 minutes” – first thing that other title made me think of. He’s a Brasilian writer. Another good one I enjoyed was “Drop City” by the same guy who wrote fight club who I can’t remember.

Leave a Reply

