Wedding Anxiety

I need to get this off my chest.  I have serious wedding anxiety.  More and more every day I wish we had just eloped.  I am really looking forward to my wedding, but when I think about all that I need to do it makes me feel like hyperventilating. 

This isn’t helped by the fact that in the past 2 weeks I have told 2 people that I don’t have a dress yet and they responded with serious shock.  Like the “What do you mean you don’t have a dress!?!?”  Kind of shock.  Thanks guys  I have been spread a little thin because I am still working full time.  Haven’t lost my job and devoted my life to blogging.  And I don’t work at home.  Also, did I mention that I am in grad school full time? 

I feel bad when people talk about the bonding they did with their mother over their wedding.  My mother and I haven’t spoken in 3 years, and I don’t want to speak to her.  I will invite her to the wedding, but no, i’m not asking her for input on what flowers to buy.  And I cried during Bride Wars because all of my bridesmaids live in different time zones.  None live in mine, so I don’t have anyone to go search for chargers and candy buffet jars with.  It sucks.  And I’m feeling bad asking people to travel in this economy.  And then I feel bad when they say they might not make it.  It’s incredibly selfish, but if I went to your wedding, don’t you have an obligation to come to mine?

Ill get over it when I find a dress.  If I ever do.

5 responses to “Wedding Anxiety

  1. I’m sorry sweetie.

    Planning a wedding is a ton of work, even if you do have family and friends around to help with everything.

    The important thing is that you have the wedding you want to have and don’t let anyone tell you that there’s only one way to do things. You have a beautiful venue, a great aesthetic, and you’re going to look beautiful in any dress you choose.

    Good luck. Try to stay sane. It sounds like you’ve got a lot on your plate right now.

  2. I will help! Just let me know what you need!

  3. =( I know that feeling of hyperventilating when you think of all the stuff you have to do for a wedding. Hence, the reason I have done nothing so far to plan mine! ha! ha! You have done an amazing job so far… just take deep breaths! Everything will work out.

  4. this feeling is natural & common. i bought a dress right away to get it over with, and then hated it and changed it two weeks before the wedding. my bridesmaid lived down the street and still didn’t really do much to help with the wedding (payback i think for me not helping with hers). the one thing to remember is that in the end, it all comes together. and the little things all bride’s stress about are just afterthoughts when you are there on your day with your husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

