Tired

I am just so tired.
I am working at this new job- this fabulous new job, but I am writing all the curriculum that I use. Most people who write curriculum get paid big bucks to sit in an office all day, and never see the inside of a classroom. I get paid like at teacher, and still teach like a teacher. But I have to make up everything that I teach.

That means all lesson plans, unit plans, handouts, homework sheets, every minute of every day I do all on my own. It’s just…………so………..much. And there is a first year teacher who is only teaching from a standardized curriculum who keeps complaining- he has everything laid out for him! Everything! When to breathe.

I need to breathe.

It just makes me want to cry. I don’t know why, I just feel so overwhelmed right now. I know I can do this, but there is just too much on my plate.

1. The wedding
2, This new job
3. Back to Grad school starting this week.

Don’t get me wrong, if I was at my old job, I would be stressed in a worse way, this feeling of helplessness and anger, at least here I know I can do what I need to do, it just seems like an enormous task. I need to count my blessings that I am starting here now, when I am still relatively young and don’t have that much to do outside of work (no family, etc).

I think I need more sleep. I was going to take just Thurs/Fri off before the wedding, but lately I am leaning towards 3 days before and 3 after.
I would love some supportive words of encouragement. Thanks Blogosphere.

6 responses to “Tired

  1. I wish I could say that I didn’t know what you were going through. But it pains me to read your blog, but I, too, feel so utterly overwhelmed. Planning a wedding, going to school, and teaching. I feel disconnected from people, my partner, and myself. What keeps me going is knowing that tomorrow will come and this too shall pass. You are not alone… and you too will survive and this too shall pass. Hang in there. Try to breathe when you can and stay afloat. You’ll make it (because you have to 😉 ) And you are a strong person!

  2. Hang in there Anne! And take as much time off before and after the wedding as you can. I really wish Sonny and I didn’t have to go back to work so quickly after the wedding. Hope it helps and can’t wait to see you in a few weeks!

  3. I say take 3 (if not more!) days off before and after. You deserve it and you will need the peace of mind. You should enjoy your wedding so do what it takes!

  4. Take the time for yourself to R&R before and after, that’s what I would do!

  5. take as much time as you need. before sure, but DEFINITELY AFTER. and try to remember that soon the wedding will be over, and it will be wonderful and amazing and everyone will have a great time and you both will be MARRIED, but then you will also have one less HUGE thing on your plate!

  6. I highly recommend taking the extra time off before the wedding. You’ll need it, trust me!

    I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling so stressed but it’s for good things! Remember, if it’s not challenging, it’s not worth it!

    Go for a short run after work today. Just a mile. It will make you feel a lot better.

Leave a Reply

